On the eve of the GCAA Division III basketball tournament, seven Georgia Northwestern players have been recognized with All-Region honors.

Sophomore Ashley Farrell is one of four Lady Bobcats honored by the region. Farrell made the GCAA Division III first team after averaging 10.3 points, 3.8 rebounds and just under one assist and one steal per game.

Freshman Katy Phillips was picked for the second team after averaging 9.8 points, 3.5 rebounds, 2.7 assists and 1.2 steals in the regular season. Phillips was also named to the five-player All-Defensive Team.

Two other freshman, Haley Blevins (8.2 points, 4.4 rebounds, 1.3 assists, 0.8 steals) and Sprite Dyer (4.7 points, 4.8 rebounds, 0.3 assists, 0.8 steals) were named as honorable mention selections.

West Georgia Tech’s Jacky Jones was named as the Player of the Year, while West Georgia Tech’s Kenny Edwards was named the Coach of the Year.

Three Bobcats were honored on the men’s side.

Freshman Darrius Fugh took first team honors after scoring 19.7 points and averaging 7.7 rebounds, 2.1 steals and 1.8 assists per game. He also shot 53 percent from the field – 49 percent from behind the 3-point arc – and 83 percent from the free throw line.

Sophomore Tyler Shropshire was picked for the second team after averaging 12 points a game to go with 3.4 rebounds, 3.0 assists and 1.3 steals a game.

Sophomore Dominic Powell (7.8 points, 2.7 rebounds, 2.4 assists, 1.1 steals) was named as an honorable mention pick.

Southern Crescent Tech’s Dantavius Bega was named the Player of the Year, while Roderick Stubbs of Oxford College was named the Coach of the Year.